Parts help for first 1930s GE desk fan

Jimmy Reed

Hey guys. I’m new to this hobby and this is my first project. I need parts help. Need a knife switch for GE 75423 Form ANI. Coil is fine but about half the insulating material is missing from exposed portion of switch lever. 
are there aftermarket parts available? Or should I be looking for an old one. If so, does anyone have a good connection to get x replacement. Or maybe someone knows how to repair the one I have. Any help will be appreciated. 

Post some pics.   Someone will perk up.   

Not sure if some parts are interchangeable or not, but I have a 1930 AK1/AOU parts fan in case some will work.  

Here are some pics of the coil. Thank you!! I’m super excited about this project. I’ve always loved old desk fans. Even bought a few, but never attempted to repair or restore one. Bought this one and was given a couple of others all GEs, able to piece together. Just need this last part! 

IMG_5609.jpeg

IMG_5610.jpeg

IMG_5611.jpeg

Thanks guys. Not much of a sculptor but I love this fan and that may be my motivation! I’ll take pic of how it turns out. 

Considering it’s there for insulation, I would think about trying the plastic parts dip you would use for hand tool handles.   Multiple dips would probably build up enough thickness.   

18 hours ago, John Landstrom said:

Considering it’s there for insulation, I would think about trying the plastic parts dip you would use for hand tool handles.   Multiple dips would probably build up enough thickness.   

JB is a better solution and will look factory if care is taken. I’ve fixed many that way. It insulates fine. I prefer the slow cure version. 

5 hours ago, Lane Shirey said:

JB is a better solution and will look factory if care is taken. I’ve fixed many that way. It insulates fine. I prefer the slow cure version. 

Lane, 

I have little experience with JB weld, other than trying to use it to fix a gearbox (which didn’t work).  What I noticed was it came out gray.