General Electric oscillating fan 1933 34?

Robert Brandon

Good this is Robert Brandon checking in hope everyone had a very nice we can and the day continues on President's Day I am trying to do some research on a general electric fan that I received almost 15 years ago it was bought by a friend as a birthday present for me at Fan Dallas in Dallas Texas and was totally restored I haven't seen another on the site I'm not good with attachments but I can give you the following information it was done in a mint green color with aluminum color blades the category number is 55 165 the serial number is 82 557 the  No 53117.8 and it is in beautiful shape runs beautifully everything switched out new felt on bottom new wiring 1 speed in reviewing I saw one that was made 3334 but not that exact number it is not a Voralex  but still impressive  Any help appreciayed

Hello Robert. Your fan is a Quiet Blade GE. Bill Kreiner put together a great assembly of Quiet Blade and Vortalex information. The complete compilation can be accessed in this thread: https://www.afcaforum.com/view_topic.php?id=61775&forum_id=5&highlight=55x165

Here’s a cut/paste from his work relevant to your fan:

The Quiet Fan (sometimes known as Quiet Blade Fan), with overlapping wings, was introduced in 1932, and continued through 1941. The Standard was introduced in 1937, and continued until well into the 1960s. The Vortalex (also called Super-Quiet Fan), with its unique “trailing tip” wings, was designed by W. K. Skolfield, and was introduced in the Spring of 1938. It finally ceased production in 1963. This chronology will cover these three models only. All fans are AC and oscillate, unless otherwise noted. The information in this document is as correct and complete as it can be at this time.

1932 – 1933:

The original Quiet Fan had one speed only and had a 3-wing polished aluminum blade. The grille had “S” shaped bars. This fan’s base, cage, and motor housing were black.