Buzzing noise when plugged in

Jeff Eaker

I’m new to the fan restorative hobby and I just got a 73468 emerson 16 “ desk fan. When I plugged it in to see if anything happens it just made a buzzing noise. So I immediately unplugged it and and looked for answers to what may be the cause. It is not froze up it moves freely no tight spots to speak of. I’m thinking new coil and stator cleaning in addition to cleaning up switch. Any suggestions from the real experts out there. Could it be the switch transformer?

Hi Jeff. Welcome to the group. Nice folks here! What you describe can be caused by a number of things including wrong wiring (the result of someone doing some work and putting the wires back incorrectly as it relates to the speed coil in the base) and/or a bad speed coil. Try turning it on and spinning the blade in the correct direction (clockwise for Emersons) to see if it will run. If it does run under those circumstances then you may have a burned out start winding on the coil or a bad choke coil. If the former situation (bad start winding in the stator) it wll need a rewind or a new stator which isn't cheap. Emerson fans are well made and I haven't run into bad start windings on this particular model. I have seen bad start windings on centrifugal start Emersons (much earlier models than what you have). I'm guessing your issue has to do with the choke (speed) coil inside the base. Report back after you try my suggestion. Pictures of your fan (and the choke coil when you expose it) are always helpful when posting on the forum. Hope to hear more from you Jeff.

Edited by David Kilnapp

Sounds like a choke coil issue. Your fan (model 29646) dates to 1922-1925 and was produced in oscillating and non-oscillating versions. I can't tell which one you have from the pictures. Take a picture of the back please.