Fern Leaf

Jim Roadt

Can an Emerson Fern Leaf be hung on an eight foot ceiling ?

Appears like the minimum the switch will be 20 " from ceiling .  Does that look too low ?

I’m no expert but I think with an 8’ ceiling it would have to go over something like a bed or table. I’ve got one I haven’t hung for that very reason. Interested in others’ takes on this!

I suspect that the Fern Leaf would mount similar to the Long Nose. Found that out the hard way. I must have missed a decimal or didn't carry the 1 in my math. Went to hang it up on my 8ft ceilings and the lights would have been too low. Hard hat zone!

The rule of thumb is blades need to be 7 feet from the floor.

I have never tried to hang a fernleaf on an 8 foot ceiling.

Doubt you can hang one and keep a 7 foot height and the nose would definitely be a hat knocker offer.

If you try, let us know the outcome.

• 2 weeks later...

How about an 8 1/2 ft ceiling

does anybody know the minimum distance from ceiling to the tip of the switch would be?  I was estimating 21"  I would appreciate a more accurate guess...measure twice hang once kind of a thing

The bottom of light is 24 " from ceiling and would be perfect height for fernleaf.  I would have to remove part of that ( hollow )beam or mount through it somehow20211017_084353.thumb.jpg.897e16f68d3805d513c72726fbf4a1b7.jpg

We had a standard of a minimum of the blades being a minimum of 14” from the ceiling. Tall people come into a room, see a fan, and they stay on the perimeter of the room.

The Fern Leaf hook has to go into a joist. You’ll need a hook long enough to pass through the the boxed wood trim, and into the rafter. I bought two hooks, and had them cut and welded together.

• Like 1