Marelli Ceiling Fan Power Supply

Pascal Milland

Hi,
Newbie here. I need help from experts in Marelli power supply!

We own 2 Marelli ceiling fans (4 blades).
According to the plates on both the fans and their rheostats, they were originally rated for 120V.

However, we bought these fans 20 years ago in 240v region and have been using them continuously under 240v without any issue (using a modern variator for fan though).

We are now back in Canada and want to use those fans on 120v.
I am not confident that I can use those fans with 120v as I suspect they were rewired for 240v and they would probably burn (drawing too much current). Or am I too cautious and the original wiring could actually take both 120 and/or 240v?

Is there a way I can check if the original wiring is still there and it is safe to use on 120v?
Rewiring these 2 fans to 120v is probably going to cost me a fortune.

I suspect the rheostat have not been rewired. Can I use them with 120V?
I am bit lost as to what I can do or not without damaging these machines.
Thanks for your help/advices.

IMG_7927.jpeg

IMG_7926.jpeg

IMG_8018.jpeg

IMG_8019.jpeg

3 hours ago, Pascal Milland said:

Hi,
Newbie here. I need help from experts in Marelli power supply!

We own 2 Marelli ceiling fans (4 blades).
According to the plates on both the fans and their rheostats, they were originally rated for 120V.

However, we bought these fans 20 years ago in 240v region and have been using them continuously under 240v without any issue (using a modern variator for fan though).

We are now back in Canada and want to use those fans on 120v.
I am not confident that I can use those fans with 120v as I suspect they were rewired for 240v and they would probably burn (drawing too much current). Or am I too cautious and the original wiring could actually take both 120 and/or 240v?

Is there a way I can check if the original wiring is still there and it is safe to use on 120v?