Help with first fan, Emerson 24666

Ben Smith

I'm new to the fan world.  I've been wanting to own a vintage fan for use during the summer in our kitchen.  I picked up an Emerson 24666, complete, but a mess.  I started to take it apart to take a look at the motor.  Came apart pretty nicely.  The stator came out OK. 

Are there recommendations on how to remove the rotor?  The rotor is stiff when turning by hand, but I'm not sure if it should spin free.

Does any of this look like it can be cleaned and reinstalled and actually run?  Before you answer, the shaft that drives the oscillation is quite rusty where it runs through the rotor, which is making me worry.

Any info on how to proceed would be great.

Kindest,

Ben.

IMG_1775[1].JPG

IMG_1779[1].JPG

IMG_1782[1].JPG

IMG_1781[1].JPG

IMG_1790[1].JPG

• Like 2

I have absolutely no doubt this fan can run quickly with very little effort. From the photos here, I don’t see any major damage. It looks great and you have a really nice starter fan!! 

There are lots of how to videos out there but this one is usually my go to to show noobies. Very informative and this one in particular is nearly identical to yours other than you have a bigger motor and 6 blades. 

Cheers!!

@Ben Smith I love my Emerson 6 wing fans! Robust design and fairly easy to work on. It will be the perfect fan for running in your kitchen as this is Emerson's "residential model". 

The oscillator shaft can just be wire wheeled clean. As long as the tip and gear is in good shape, you'll be good to go. I've had a couple sticky rotors. They should spin freely. Probably just gunked up oil. You've already got the brass rotor retaining nut off. So just twist it and pull straight out. If it's really gunked up, lay the motor on it's back and get some penetrating oil down between the rotor and oil tube. That should help break up the sludge.